Home Civil Law 16 Year Old Driving Curfew In Michigan Explained | Michigan Auto Law

16 Year Old Driving Curfew In Michigan Explained | Michigan Auto Law

37
0

The 16 12 months previous driving curfew in Michigan is 10 pm to five am for 16-year-old teen drivers with a Level 2 graduated licensing standing. The solely exceptions are when driving with a guardian, authorized guardian or driver over 21, driving for work (together with to and from) or to and from a certified activity.

What is the 16 12 months previous driving curfew in Michigan?

Under Michigan’s graduated licensing system, 16-year-old teen drivers with a Level 2 graduated licensing standing “shall not operate a vehicle . . . [b]etween the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.” (MCL 257.310(6)(a))

Are there exceptions to the 16 12 months previous driving curfew in Michigan?

The 16 12 months previous driving curfew that runs from 10pm to 5am doesn’t apply to Level 2 teen drivers when they’re driving: (1) with a guardian, authorized guardian or driver over 21; (2) for work; (3) going to or from work; or (4) going to or from a certified activity. (MCL 257.310e(6)(a))

The regulation defines “authorized activity” as any of the next:

  • “A school or a school-sanctioned event or activity. For purposes of this subdivision, school means a public or private school, including a home school.”
  • “A sporting event or activity, or extracurricular event or activity, that is not school-sanctioned but that is part of an official sports league or association or an official extracurricular club, or that is paid for as a service offered by a business specializing in those events or activities or training for those events or activities.”
  • “A class or program of vocational instruction offered by a college, community college, nonprofit association, or unit of government or by a business specializing in vocational training.”
  • “An event or activity sponsored by a religious organization that is tax-exempt under federal law.”
  • “Transporting an individual in need of immediate emergency care or personal protection to a health care professional, hospital, police station, domestic violence shelter, or public safety location.” (MCL 257.310e(15)

Penalty for violating the 16 12 months previous driving curfew in Michigan

The penalty for violating the 16 12 months previous driving curfew in Michigan is a civil infraction. A violation may additionally end in an extension of the 6-month minimal requirement for having a Level 2 allow as well as an extension of the 16 12 months previous driving curfew and different driving restrictions. (MCL 257.310e(6), (7)(d) and (11))

Can 16-year-old drivers have passengers within the automobile?

16-year-old teen drivers with a Level 2 graduated licensing standing can’t drive with “more than 1 passenger in the vehicle who is less than 21 years of age.” (MCL 257.310e(6)(b) However, there are restricted exceptions.

A 16-year-old teen driver with a Level 2 graduated licensing standing could drive and not using a passenger who’s 21 or over if:

  • “The person is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older designated by the parent or legal guardian.”
  • “Any additional passengers who are less than 21 years of age are members of his or her immediate family.”
  • “The person is operating the vehicle in the course of his or her employment or while going to or from employment or while going to or from an authorized activity.” (MCL 257.310e(6)(b))

Can 16-year-old drivers discuss on a mobile phone?

No. Kelsey’s Law prohibits all teen drivers (no matter age) with a Level 1 or Level 2 graduated licensing standing from utilizing a mobile phone whereas driving to make a call, reply a call and/or discuss or in any other case have interaction in a mobile phone dialog. (MCL 257.602c(1))

Need assist discovering the best automobile accident lawyer? Call Michigan Auto Law

If you will have been injured in a automobile accident and wish to communicate with an skilled harm legal professional, call toll free anytime 24/7 at (800) 777-0028 for a free one on one with certainly one of our auto accident attorneys. You may also get assist from an skilled legal professional by emailing [email protected] or you should use the chat function on our web site.

16 Year Old Driving Curfew In Michigan Explained

[Community Guidelines]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here