The greatest approach for the best way to report a reckless driver is to call 9-1-1. With the details about the car that you simply present, the 9-1-1 dispatcher will be capable of direct the closest police officer to make an emergency response. By reporting a reckless driver, you’re serving to to stop severe, avoidable crashes.
As an lawyer, i’ve litigated many severe automobile accident harm lawsuits brought on by dangerous driving habits.
“Reckless” is a time period that applies to so many various kinds of harmful drivers. It consists of aggressive speeders, tailgaters, distracted drivers who textual content, and intoxicated or drugged drivers.
The tragic penalties of automobile and truck accidents which can be brought on by reckless driving are made worse by the truth that these tragedies might have been simply prevented if widespread sense and good driving judgment had been used.
However, by figuring out the best way to report a reckless driver and by reporting them after we encounter them on our commutes and fast runs to the grocery retailer, we will all hopefully stop extra tragedies from occurring.
How to report a reckless driver in Michigan
To report a reckless driver in Michigan, it’s best to call 9-1-1. Do NOT call the state police or a selected police division. Provide the 9-1-1 dispatcher with as much detailed data as potential, together with the make/mannequin of the car, tag quantity, route of journey and an outline of the driving force.
Why must you report a reckless driver by calling 9-1-1?
Calling 9-1-1 will join you with the dispatch middle that’s closest to you and to the driving force whose harmful driving habits you’re calling about. A 9-1-1 dispatcher may also prepare for any emergency assist that’s wanted, such police, hearth, ambulance and/or MDOT or highway fee personnel.
Why wouldn’t call the state or native police?
If you call the Michigan State Police or an area police division to report a reckless driver in Michigan they may instruct you to call 9-1-1. By calling 9-1-1 instantly, you enhance the possibilities that legislation enforcement will be capable of reply promptly sufficient to apprehend the driving force and forestall a severe or lethal crash.
What is reckless driving?
Reckless driving in Michigan is outlined as driving on a Michigan freeway or “other place open to the general public,” which incorporates parking tons, “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” (MCL 257.626(2))
What are the penalties for reckless driving in Michigan?
The penalty for reckless driving in Michigan is a misdemeanor which is punishable by 93 days in jail, a $500 superb or each. (MCL 257.626(2))
If the driving force “causes serious impairment of a body function to another person,” then she or he “is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both.” (MCL 257.626(3))
Reckless driving that “causes the death of another person” is a felony, punishable by as much as 15 years in jail, a superb of $2,500.00 to $10,000.00, or each. (MCL 257.626(4))
What must you do if you happen to encounter somebody driving carelessly?
Stay calm. As safely as potential, attempt to distance your self from the individual – whether or not meaning altering lanes, turning onto one other road or pulling right into a car parking zone or onto the shoulder of the highway. Call 9-1-1 to report the reckless driver as quickly as it’s protected for you to take action.
What counts as reckless driving?
Reckless driving in Michigan is outlined as driving that exhibits a “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” (MCL 257.626(2)) Examples of reckless driving embrace: (1) rushing; (2) driving too quick for circumstances; (3) texting whereas driving; (4) drunk or drugged driving; and (5) disregarding site visitors indicators and indicators.
Need assist? Call the attorneys at Michigan Auto Law
If you have been injured in a reckless driving accident and have questions on your authorized rights to ache and struggling compensation, financial damages and No-Fault advantages, you possibly can converse to an skilled harm lawyer at (800) 777-0028 for a free one on one. You may also get assist from an skilled lawyer by emailing [email protected] or you should use the chat function on our web site.